Looking at a Tarot T 2D...

Phantom 1 Chat, Queries and Advice.

Moderators: Richard, 1275mini

Looking at a Tarot T 2D...

Postby courghan » Thu Sep 26, 2013 4:00 pm

Hello guys, I am new to the Phantom business but I know I will get a gimbal if the aerial video shooting works as I hope :) I read fairly good comments on the Tarot 2D, at a fraction of the Zenmuse, which seems to have loads of problems too.

I found it on Hobby-Kings at a good price (as far as I know)...as anybody bought from them? is that all I need to get it to work on my phantom? Or do I need any other bits (I guess the tilt control is extra?)?

http://www.hobbyking.com/hobbyking/stor ... oller.html

Thanks
courghan

Re: Looking at a Tarot T 2D...

Postby SubHuman » Thu Sep 26, 2013 8:21 pm

Tarot is a great gimbal. Comes either as a "kit" or I think they charge $45 for assembly and calibration (money well spent). My experience with them has been great and my Tarot got to me here in the US in a matter of three or four days.
SubHuman

Postby Avant_adam » Thu Sep 26, 2013 8:34 pm

I have this gimbal and completed the pitch control tonight. I highly recommend it, a little bit of assembly but fantastic in use. Totally smooth.

Got mine from china via eBay which was a little bit of a long shot. Turned up after a month and a couple of emails saying it had been withdrawn!

The only issue is that the gimbal is slightly taller than the space under the phantom, so I have to take off from a little platform. Plan to put some foam on the skids to lift it up about 5mm.

No experience of zenmuse, think it is lighter and more self contained but haven't good experiences about the installation or reliability. So far so good with this.

Adam
Phantom V1 -flying for fun
Avant_adam

Postby Gizmo3000 » Thu Sep 26, 2013 8:44 pm

hands down the best bang-for-the buck brushless gimbal. (there's a few which costs less, but require more tinkering)
Gizmo3000

Postby jezza1983 » Fri Sep 27, 2013 1:34 am