F450 build (APM) - recommended parts combination?

F450 Chat, Queries and Advice.

Moderators: Richard, 1275mini

F450 build (APM) - recommended parts combination?

Postby gj384 » Wed Nov 06, 2013 7:11 am

Hi guys,

I'm new to RC and multirotors, and I'm looking at an F450 as my first build (after spending a bit of time learning to fly with a cheap RTF quad first).

After doing a fair amount of research I've decided I want to build an ArduPilot-based system, and then hopefully once it's all up and running start to play around with different props, motors etc.

Given that it will be my first build, I really have no idea what type of motors, ESCs etc I should start with, and I know if I put in an order somewhere I'd almost certainly forget something. So I was wondering if anyone could share a complete parts list for an F450+APM setup that they've built and flown with success.

Really appreciate any suggestions and advice anyone can offer!

Thanks in advance

Gareth
gj384

Re: F450 build (APM) - recommended parts combination?

Postby Gizmo3000 » Wed Nov 06, 2013 7:23 am

I've been quite pleased with my build, tho still trying to sort out a few things (I with with a NAZA v2).

I went with T-motor 3110-15's 780kv motors, bigger and more powerful, with APC 10x3.8 props running off a 4s battery.
I bought SimonK flashed ESC's off ebay.
had to buy a bunch of bullet connectors so that I could hook them all up.
also bought a UBEC from hobby king that converts 4s down to 3s power so I could power my gimbal and FPV
..plus some male JST's.
got a fancy GPS puck holder as well (not sure what kind of GPS the ArduPilot stuff uses).
I got cheap landing gear, because I wanted rails underneath to mount stuff, but that didn't work swell, as the legs vibrated terribly.
so now I have the DJI legs which i think will work a lot better.
that's about all I can think of,. it was a fun little project to put together.
Gizmo3000

Postby Rilot » Wed Nov 06, 2013 9:57 am